top of page

Gilligan, ManpowerGroup honored with Mary Ellen Stanek Award

ManpowerGroup and the leader of the Greater Milwaukee Foundation were honored Monday with the Mary Ellen Stanek Award. The recognition is named for the managing director and chief investment officer at Baird Advisors. Greater Milwaukee Foundation president and chief executive officer Ellen Gilligan and staffing and employment services firm ManpowerGroup are being recognized for their work on diversity in corporate governance. The Greater Milwaukee Committee (GMC) and Milwaukee Women inc (MWI) presented the awards during a monthly membership meeting for the GMC. Recipients are selected for demonstrating a commitment to promoting equity and inclusion in their corporate structure, according to a news release. The goal is to increase gender and racial diversity in leadership and on corporate boards in the region. The two entities honored Gilligan for her efforts to address gender and social justice, the announcement says. She also serves on different boards throughout the community. The GMC and MWI said Gilligan knows how to build models for organizations and initiatives that increase diversity and address social justice issues. Among other efforts, they commended Gilligan’s work on the ThriveOn King collaboration with the Medical College of Wisconsin and Royal Capital Group. The project is focused on improving health outcomes on Milwaukee’s north side. ManpowerGroup received the award because of its commitment to gender parity and conscious inclusion, according to the announcement. The GMC and MWI say women comprise 45% of ManpowerGroup’s board and about 65% of the overall company, as well as nearly 60% of all management roles and 37% of senior leadership positions. The Milwaukee firm has a goal of 40% women in leadership by 2024.

In addition, the announcement says, ManpowerGroup set a goal of having people of color represent 15% to 25% of its workforce and leadership by 2025. MWI and the GMC Future Workforce Committee review nominations for the Mary Ellen Stanek award. Previous individual recipients have included Mary Ellen Stanek, General Capital Group partner Linda Gorens-Levey, WEC Energy Group executive chairman Gale Klappa, Quarles & Brady chairman emeritus John Daniels Jr. and Wells Fargo executive vice president Gina Peter. Northwestern Mutual, Associated Bank and Aurora Health Care have been corporate award winners. The GMC and MWI introduced the award in 2013.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page